Speaking Korean!

I’ve been using this website almost every day to learn Korean: http://www.talktomeinkorean.com

It has been very useful, and the lessons are very short so it keeps it from being too boring. So far, I’ve been getting around Korea only knowing how to say “hello” and “thank you”. It’s worked out pretty well, but obviously I want to learn more!

Yesterday, I was studying the “What is this?” lesson, and just after I finished and was re-playing it to review, one of my office mates tapped me on the shoulder to come sit around the coffee table and have a snack. She offered me a weird looking cookie thing covered with sesame seeds. This was my chance to practice what I just learned!! I was so excited. I confidently said, “What is this?” in Korean and they all jumped up and clapped for me. They were SO excited and happy that I used a new Korean phrase correctly. Then of course they started laughing at me as usual. All day I hear “blah blah blah Vanessa blah blah blah blah Vanessa…” and laughs. Sometimes they tell me what they are saying, but usually they don’t. Ah!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Speaking Korean!

  1. Krystal says:

    Congrats, Vanessa! One small step is a gigantic leap in a foreign language and it sounds like your Korean friends are very encouraging and supportive of you. Don’t worry too much about mixing up the male teachers. All that matters is that you’re making an effort to learn as much as possible all while being sociable.

Leave a Reply

