Open Day

So today was “Open Day” at my school, which is where the parents come in and see whats going on in the school and get introduced to all the teachers, etc.  I really didn’t have much to do with it, but all my classes today were cancelled.  Then I had to go to the assembly where the vice principal was introducing all the teachers.  I stood in a line with all the 4th Grade teachers in the front of the gym.  The vice principal called each name and then each teacher bowed to the audience.  When it was my turn, I listened closely for my name and did my bow as planned. But then everyone laughed and I don’t know why.  I just smiled really big.  I stayed around after though to see more teachers get introduced, so I think the vice principal was just making jokes or something.  I’m really not sure, and I’m fine with not knowing!

So it was a long day of sitting at my desk.  The most exciting thing was that I finally got my ARC – Alien Registration Card.  This is what I have been waiting for in order to go get a cell phone, so hopefully by this weekend I will have a phone.  

Also, some of the teachers were asking me if they had “Open Day” in America.  I said yes, most schools usually have an “Open House” or “Meet the Teacher” night.  They were very confused as to why it would be called “Open House”.  They asked me “Why not called Open School?”  I think they make a very good point!  I didn’t have a good answer for them.

Tonight was also the 5th grade teacher dinner, so we all went to a Korean restaurant near the school.  First they brought out a bunch of side dishes.  It was pretty good, but then I had to listen to them talk for 2 hours while I nodded and smiled.  Every once in awhile they would ask me a question, or I would just hear my name and knew they were talking about me.  I’m really starting to recognize a lot of words now, but I still have no idea what’s going on most of the time.  After dinner, my co-teacher drove me home and was basically saying how lame the 5th grade teachers were and how they were no fun.  She said they never want to go do anything, they just want to go home and she doesn’t like that.  I don’t blame her.  I was really hoping we’d go to the Noraebang and have some soju, but no such luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

