3 Months

It took two weeks, but I finally fully recovered from being sick.  It probably didn’t help that I have been going to Seoul every weekend for the past three, but I’m living it up!  I celebrated my three month Korea anniversary last weekend in Seoul.  So here’s a brief summary of what has gone on the past few weeks.  Some of these topics I plan on writing full posts about, so I won’t go into too much detail. 

At the beginning of the month, we celebrated “Children’s Day” at my school.  The entire day was spent outside with the students competing in various sports activities.  It was like “Field Day” back home, but so much more intense. 

I went to Seoul three weekends in a row.  This past weekend was the best, because I finally went shopping, and I got to go to the Lotus Lantern Festival Parade, and out to experience the night life.  I’m really starting to love that city!

Last Tuesday was “Teacher’s Day” in Korea.  To celebrate this, almost all the schools in my entire town got together at the local gym for a volleyball and badmitton tournament.  It was SO cool!

I also finally hit my “three month slump”.  I was sick, and everything started to be so routine. I started to get fed up with my job, and Korea in general.  I had no energy to spend time with friends, so I was alone a lot.  Then the hard drive on my laptop crashed and I lost everything, and having to deal with that in a foreign country was not the most pleasant experience.  Luckily, I snapped out of it last Thursday.  I was finally feeling better, and I went out to spend time with friends in downtown Daegu both Thursday and Friday nights.  It felt so good to be out with friends, and I cheered up immediately. 

Last Friday, I cleaned my whole apartment (after 3 weeks, it was filthy).  I decided to treat myself to a good American meal, and I knew just the right place.  I wanted JJ’s Bar and Grill in downtown Daegu.  I arrived around 8pm, and was the only one there for about an hour.  It was a little weird at first, but the food was good, and I sat at the bar and had the greatest conversation with the new manager.  I told him my name, and he said “Oh, that’s easy to remember.  That’s my sister’s name.  She lives in Dallas, Texas.”  What?!  From there, we found out we both went to UT Austin at the same time, and we spent an hour talking about all the places we missed in Austin.  When things like that happen, I know I’m in the right place and on the right track.  I also met another UT alum on Sunday in Seoul.  Two in one weekend!

And finally, yesterday I got to leave work early to go downtown to the Sony store to get my laptop repaired.  I caught my usual bus (918) back to my neighborhood to meet my friend Yuki.  When I got on the bus, the driver immidiately showed some serious excitement.  Usually, they ignore everyone, but this guy was so happy to have me ride on his bus.  I had my headphones in, so I couldn’t hear him greet me.  I just nodded and went to sit down in the back.  About five minutes into the ride he started yelling questions at me (in Korean, of course).  I took out my headphones, and he said “Meegok?” (American?), and then he asked me if I was a teacher, and which school, etc.  I just kept saying “Neh, neh, neh” (Yes).  That was about all I could understand.  He started speaking full on Korean, and I got lost.  Then all the ajummas (old ladies) on the bus started to chime in.  I’m guessing they were all about about me, but I had no idea what they said.  I just kept smiling and listening to my music.  Eventually, the bus driver stopped talking and resorted to just waving at me through the rear view mirror.  It was really funny, and reminded me that yes, I have a routine, but funny/strange things will still happen and I’m okay with that!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 3 Months

  1. Krystal says:

    I’m so glad you were able to get out of the dreaded “slump.” The newness is probably starting to fade, but I know there are so many new things to discover! Can’t wait to hear the rest of your stories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

