Sick, again.

The Korean germs have been hitting me pretty hard for the past month.  First, I had that horrendous cold/upper respiratory tract infection, and the lastest was a really hard hitting stomach virus.  At least, I think that’s what it was.  I’m still not entirely sure.  It’s not like anything else I’ve ever had before, and I can’t remember ever feeling that sick for such a long period of time.

It started last Saturday very gradually.  I pretty much just had a dull ache in my abdomen, and every time I tried to eat my appetite would suddenly disappear.  This feeling continued through Sunday, and then that night I started not being able to keep food or water down.  It kept going downhill from there.  Luckily, I had Monday  off work for a holiday so I stayed home to rest.  By Tuesday, it was still worse so I had my friend Yuki take me to the doctor.  I think there was something mistranslated, because the doctor seemed convinced that I was just eating the WRONG kind of food and that’s why I was sick.  Also, stress, etc.  He gave me some pills, and sent me home.  I kept getting worse. 

On Wednesday, I started to get really worried that something was seriously wrong..and I hadn’t been able to eat or drink anything since Saturday, so I was very weak and a bit delirious.  I showed up at my school on Wednesday morning a sobbing mess.  One of my co-teachers rushed me across the street to a doctor, who listened again to my symptoms, and said I had a stomach virus.  Then, I layed down for two hours while they gave me 2 IV bags.  First time ever getting an IV.  I definitely needed that though.  I really didn’t feel any better afterwards, but I rested in the nurse office the rest of the day before my co-teacher drove me home. 

Thursday was spent much of the same way…Not eating, and sleeping off and on.  I stayed home though, and had a few fleeting moments of “okayness”.  By Friday, I hardly improved, but my co-teacher expected me back at school.  By the time I made it there, I pretty much collapsed in exhaustion.  Then it was back to the nurses office.  They made me go to the cafeteria to eat rice.  I had to force myself, and it was not fun, but I was glad that I did.  I really needed to eat.  After lunch, my co-teacher took me to her house, and made some rice soup for me (rice and hot water, really).  Then she took me to another doctor.  This doctor said I was having really bad reflux, and gave me four more days of meds.  The rest of the weekend, I spent sleeping, eating rice, and taking medicine.  My stomach still gets upset, but it’s not nearly as bad, and I get really exhausted pretty fast. 

The strangest part in all this is the difference of culture between how stomach viruses are treated back home vs. here in Korea.  My co-teacher seemed CONVINCED that it was something I ate that was making me sick.  She drilled me about what I ate last Saturday, and then Friday..etc.  Had I not been completely drained of energy, I probably would have snapped.  Back home, whenever I get stomach stuff, I usually drink some Ginger Ale (don’t think that exists here, would love some right now though), eat some toast, and maybe some soup or chicken broth.  When I told my co-teacher this, she seemed absolutely horrified.  Same with the doctors.  They all said it was “Very very bad”.  I could tell they were laughing about us “silly Americans”. 

I’m still not back to 100%, but I am back at school, and am feeling a lot better.  Apparently, I still can’t eat anything besides rice..so I will stick to that for the next couple of days.  I’m ready to be healthy again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sick, again.

  1. Krystal says:

    Oh, no! I’m so sorry you are sick. A stomach virus is no fun. 😦 If I could send you some Ginger Ale, I would! I hope you start feeling better real soon.

Leave a Reply

