Healthy!

It’s so nice to be healthy again!  I celebrated by waking up very early last Saturday morning and heading to Seoul.  I wanted to do some shopping!  I immediately headed to Myeongdong hoping to beat most of the crowds.  This shopping area gets crazy packed with people that it’s almost impossible to move down the street.  It was pretty much deserted when I arrived around 10am, so I was thankful.  I ended up just walking around for the first half hour, and ended up finding a Jamba Juice!  I was beyond excited, and quickly ordered my favorite smoothie.  It’s the little things like this that make me so excited.  Finding little pieces of home is so refreshing.  Then, I did some damage at some stores before meeting a guy I’ve been seeing for lunch.  We headed over to Itaewon (the foreigner district) and ate some really good Thai food.  It’s really hard to find good international food where I live, and even in Daegu so when I go to Seoul, I like it indulge!  It was delicious. 

We also went to On the Border for dinner.  I hated going to On the Border back home.  It just doesn’t make sense when there are so many better places, but I was happy to find the one in Seoul.  It was insanely expensive, but I enjoyed my REAL chips and queso, and fajitas.  I even had leftovers…Something that NEVER happens in Korea.  It was good, and I ran into some friends there so that was nice.  No matter where I go in this country, I always run into someone I know.  I love it! 

On Sunday, I went to Vato’s in Itaewon, which is a really good urban taco place.  It’s overpriced, of course, but the food is really good, and the people who work there are really nice.  One of the guys at the bar was talking about the NBA finals and how he was a Kevin Durant fan because he went to UT.  So, I mentioned that I went there too.  We got to talking and he told me he’s trying to start a Korea UT Alumni chapter and got my e-mail so I could be informed about events.  So cool!  This was my third time meeting a fellow Longhorn (the second one was also at Vato’s). 

It’s hard to believe that it’s already mid-June.  My birthday is coming up next week, and I still don’t have a plan.  I miss my friends back home and celebrating with them.  Summer feels so different here.  I think it’s because school won’t break until the end of July.  It’s just a new feeling that I haven’t gotten used to yet.  I’m longing for a nice pool, or to go tubing in New Braunfels.  My school won’t tell me my vacation days so I haven’t been able to plan a trip yet, so I’m frustrated about that.  I’m sure it will work out though!  For now, I’m just going to enjoy being healthy again.  For some reason, I’ve been waking up around 5/5:30 every morning.  Today I decided if I was going to be up, I may as well go for a run.  I haven’t been in 4 months and it felt amazing.  I ran/walked around the university near my apartment from 5:50am-6:40am.  It was an amazing start to the day, so I hope I can make this a habit! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

