A taste of home

The weather here finally started to cool off.  Football season also started, but unfortunately I can’t watch any of the games unless I stay up all night.  Also, the guy I’ve been dating for the past 4 months left Korea for good, so last weekend I was in desperate need of some comfort food! 

I made my first trip to Costco in Daegu a few weeks ago, so I had a decent supply of ground beef in my freezer, as well as two giant bottles of Pace Picante salsa.  Combine that with beans, and the chili seasoning I brought from home (Pendery’s) and I had some AMAZING chili!  It made for a delicious Sunday meal, and I’ve been enjoying the leftovers.  I can’t wait to make a bigger pot.

This meal really hit the spot.  Dr.Pepper is pretty hard to find in Korea, but on my last trip to Seoul I filled up my backpack from one of the vending machines at Seoul Station.  Good cheese is also hard to find here.  I always buy the pepper jack cheese from Emart (a fancier version of Target/Walmart).  It’s pretty expensive, but worth it. The Koreans love nachos, so most markets carry tortilla chips.  I also can’t forget that most of my homecooked meals here would not be possible without my grandmother raising me to be a decent cook!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A taste of home

  1. Sharon Rush says:

    Vanessa-
    You can take the girl out of Texas, but you can’t take Texas out of the girl! I have so enjoyed reading about your amazing journey!

  2. Krystal says:

    Looks yummy! Have you learned to cook any Korean dishes?

  3. Nancy Daniels says:

    Looks delicious Vanessa!

Leave a Reply

