Pepero Day

November 11th (11/11) every year in Korea is known as “Pepero Day” (뺴빼로).  Pepero is a bread stick that’s covered in chocolate.  For days leading up to the 11th, every store puts out an elaborate display of all kinds of pepero.  I wish I had taken a picture.  Basically, everyone buys tons of pepero and they give it to their friends, coworkers, or significant others.  I didn’t buy any, but on the Friday before all my students gave me a ridiculous amount.  I would walk down the hallway and hear “Vanessa!!! WAIT!!!”, and then they ran back to their classrooms to bring me pepero.  After a few hours, my desk drawer was overflowing.

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

