Halloween in Korea

This post is WAY overdue, but I wanted to make sure I wrote about it before too much time went by.  Halloween is obviously a really big deal in the U.S., but in Korea it’s not really celebrated or very well known at all.  Foreigners use it an excuse to dress up and party, but Koreans don’t really know a whole lot about.  I’m here to teach English, but the students and teachers enjoy learning about western culture, just as I like to learn about theirs.  My co-teacher asked me to teach a Halloween lesson to my 5th grade students, so of course I had a blast coming up with fun activities.  I taught them the song “Monster Mash”, and I showed them a lot of pictures, especially ones of me in all my epic costumes from over the years.  They really enjoyed it.  Then, they got to make a Halloween mask.  

Image

 

Image

The previous weekend, I celebrated out in downtown Daegu by going to the local “zombie walk” put together by some foreigners.  Lots of people dressed up like zombies and walked around downtown scaring the crap out of everyone.  I really can’t put into words how hilarious it was.  Many of the Koreans just stood by and watched in awe, while others ran away terrified.  

Image

 

Image

I finally ended the night at my favorite drink-in-a-bag place.  I had plans for an amazing costume, but I ran out of time to pull it off.  But, don’t worry, it will definitely be ready for next year.  I can’t wait!

This is my friend Minseok and I on Halloween.  He owns “GoGo”, the drink-in-a-bag bar!  

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halloween in Korea

  1. Pingback: Halloween in Korea! (again) | Korean Tacos

Leave a Reply

