Summer Fun

It’s been getting hotter and hotter every day here, and it’s always a battle at school about turning on the air conditioner. But, despite that I’ve been able to do quite a few fun things this summer.  It’s the last week of school this week so I’m not teaching.  Then I’ll be teaching a half day summer camp for 2 weeks before taking my own vacation (9 days off).  I’ll be spending 6 days in Taiwan!  I really can’t believe I’m already almost halfway through my second year contract here.  This year is going by much faster than last year, or at least it seems like it!

ImageBack in June I went down to Busan on a Sunday afternoon to check out the Sand Castle Festival.  I missed it last year, so I wanted to be sure I made it down to see all the amazing sand creations this year.  It was insanely crowded, so I quickly skimmed everything and took a lot of pictures.  My favorite part was walking around the area where children and families could build their own castles.  They also had a massive slide down a huge pile of sand.

 ImageLast week I got to go ice skating with my 6th grade students.  So much fun and great way to beat the brutal summer humidity!

ImageI spent last weekend with my good friend Ariel down on the eastern coast in a city called Pohang.  I love how easy it is to get around Korea.  I took a bus from right down the road from my apartment ,and it only took an hour and a half to get to Pohang.  It was my first time there and I had a lot of fun eating terribly unhealthy food (BBQ, fried chicken, McDonald’s, etc.) and hanging out on the beach.  There were a lot of foreigners in town for a huge ultimate frisbee tournament on the beach on Saturday.  Ariel and I camped out on the beach ALL day and just relaxed and watched the frisbee games.  At night, I tried to rescue a little turtle that I found coming out of the water.  I was worried it would get stepped on walking into such a populated beach area so I put it back in the water.  It kept coming back out though, so I don’t think I really helped all that much.  It was a cute little turtle!   They also had a salsa dancing festival going on at the beach on Saturday night.  It was really cool to hear salsa music and see Koreans dancing to it.  They were so excited to have foreigners watching, and they made us go on the dance floor a few times even though we were terrible.  After that we went to the foreigner bar.  I’ve heard how crazy Pohang can get, and I’m glad to say that it didn’t disappoint.  It’s totally a laid back party beach town.

We made it back to Gyeongsan around 2:30, and I had plenty of time to rest and go to the gym.  On my way to the gym a storm rushed in out of nowhere and it poured rain for about 20 minutes.  As soon as it stopped there was a beautiful rainbow over the university!

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Fun

  1. Mary Gwen says:

    Sounds like so much fun! Nothing like a day at the beach…we just got back from the mountains in Abq, N.M….me, Lauren, Thomas and Lyn….had a great time…found Lauren an apt. with two other roomies….she starts school Aug. 19, so we will go back up there to get her moved in….gonna be a big change for both of the girls..Lyn is going to grad school at St. Ed’s this fall and work part-time at the job she has now…it’s a two year program…Thomas is trying to find a job in Mechanical Engineering….when we go back to Abq at the end of July, we are going to try to schedule at Breaking Bad tour to see all the places that it is filmed in Abq….it”s a great city and Santa Fe, an hour from there is really cool! Can’t wait to go back, although I’m pretty tired from this past week there…take care and continue having fun there! Love ya, M.G.

  2. Tiffany says:

    Cool. Do you know what they use to dye the sand?

Leave a Reply

