A Noraebang to Remember…

As most foreigners in Korea know, 노래방 (noraebang, or karaoke) is extremely popular.  It’s basically impossible to spend over a month without singing in front of your friends and coworkers at least once. I won’t get into all the details, but whenever schools have a teacher dinner it is a custom to sing together after you eat.  Whenever a teacher trip or dinner rolls around, my coworkers always ask me if I have a song prepared.  I usually just pick one on the spot, and it usually goes over pretty well.  For some time now I’ve been wanting to learn a Korean song to perform for my coworkers.  The last couple weeks gave me the perfect opportunity because we had two big teacher dinners.  The principal and vice principal left my school, and the next week we got new people so we had to “celebrate” two separate times.

The song I prepared was “어머나 (Ohmona) ” which is a very popular song by 장윤정 (Jang Yoon Jeong).  It was actually pretty easy to learn, but I was still pretty nervous to sing it in front of my coworkers.  When the song started I was really excited though, and I got really into it.  The look of shock and surprise on all their faces was priceless.  After I was finished I got rushed with hugs and compliments, and the following day everyone kept telling me how great it was.  Apparently now nobody else will ever sing this song again at school dinners because now it’s “my song”.  It was so much fun, and definitely worth it.  It’s a been a few days and I still can’t get the song out of my head!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

